Half Empty.

July 7, 2009

Half-Full

On a day like this,
I wondered about the world.
So much to make of it,
And so much to ignore…

As I embarked upon this journey,
I made some sense out of it,
Only to reach a dead end,
A dead end which welcomed me back.

It was all very tiring,
With sweat running down my spine,
So I chose to sleep,
A sleep which awakens me,

I reached a wall,
Million bricks there were,
Which had stood the test of time,
A showcase of labor.

The curiosity within,
Urged me to climb it,
And I failed again and again,
And I screamed again and again…

The hope was still alive,
‘Someone on the other side may hear me’
I waited a lifetime it seemed,
But no reply came.

Maybe the wall is supposed to stop,
Travelers like me,
Maybe I should face it with honor,
Or should I break down and cry?

Questions were asked enough,
It was time to act.
So I turned back and walked home,
But no tear did I let fall down.

And this is where I woke up,
To find myself home,
Couldn’t recall whether it was a dream,
Or did it actually happen??

This is the story so far,
Trying, I am,
To recall everything,
But all that come back are questions.

I was flipping a coin as I wrote all this,
Wondering what to write next.
When suddenly a distant thought,
Was brought to me by the winds.

It was just there in my mind,
Stopping the world around me for a moment,
Neither could I make anything of it,
Nor could I dismiss it.

But at this moment,
The coin slipped through my fingers,
And came down to the earth,
And made me stuck with my thought.

I didn’t bother to pick it up,
And see which side was up,
Because,
I was rich enough…

Leave a comment